Buckeyes adjusting 2017 & 2018 football schedules makes dollars and sense

Yesterday it was reported by several media outlets that Ohio State and North Carolina mutually agreed to opt out of a home-and-home agreement for the 2017 and 2018 football seasons.


Originally, the Buckeyes were to face the Tar Heels in Columbus on Sept. 23, 2017, then travel to Chapel Hill on Sept. 22, 2018.

But there was a problem. The Big Ten Conference is moving to nine league games starting with the 2016 football season. With nine being an odd number, every other year Ohio State will get five conference home games, but just four for the others, so OSU’s athletic department is trying get seven homes games each and every season.

It’s all about the money, and it makes sense.

To replace North Carolina on the schedule, Ohio State announced today on their website that the Buckeyes will now play UNLV on Sept. 27, 2017, and will open the 2018 season against Oregon State on Sept. 1.

In 2016, the Buckeyes will play seven home games with Bowling Green, Tulsa, Indiana, Rutgers, Northwestern,Nebraska and Michigan all coming to Ohio Stadium. For the 2017 season, Ohio State has six home games scheduled with one open date.

In other news, the home-and-home series scheduled with Boston College that was suppose to begin in 2020, was pushed back three years. The Buckeyes will host the Eagles on Sept. 9, 2023, before traveling Chestnut Hill on Sept. 2. 2024.

You may also like...