Ohio State’s Bennett named to 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list

On Wednesday afternoon, the first of many watch lists that will be announced in the coming weeks was released as the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation tabbed 42 college football players for its’ Lott IMPACT Trophy presented annually to the defensive IMPACT Player of the Year and Ohio State’s Michael Bennett made that list.


Bennett, a 6-foot-2, 288-pound senior defensive tackle from Centerville, Ohio, registered 42 tackles, 11.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks during his junior campaign. He was one of three defensive tackles to make the list along with 17 linebackers, eight defensive ends, seven safeties, five cornerbacks, and two players listed as defensive backs.

Bennett joins six others from the Big Ten to make the list which includes defensive end Shilique Calhoun from Michigan State, safety Corey Cooper from Nebraska, linebacker Collin Ellis from Northwestern, linebacker Cole Farrand from Maryland, defensive end Randy Gregory from Nebraska, and Penn State linebacker Ben Kline.

As for the award, IMPACT is an acronym for: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community, and Tenacity. The award purports to equally recognize the personal character of the winning player as well as his athletic excellence. The award selection is voted on by members of the national media, previous finalists, the board of directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation. The award is named in honor of USC Trojan, College Football Hall of Fame, San Francisco 49er, and Pro Football Hall of Fame defensive back, Ronnie Lott.

The complete Lott Trophy watch list:

Geoffrey Bacon, DB, Army
Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson
Michael Bennett, DT, Ohio State
Kelby Brown, LB, Duke
Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State
Sam Carter, S, TCU
Henry Coley, LB, Virginia
Landon Collins, S, Alabama
Corey Cooper, S, Nebraska
Ronald Darby, CB, Florida State
Michael Doctor, LB, Oregon State
Alvin “Bud” Dupree, DE, Kentucky
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
Collin Ellis, LB, Northwestern
Cole Farrand, LB, Maryland
Randy Gregory, DE, Nebraska
Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor
Vernon Hargreaves, DB, Florida
David Helton, LB, Duke
Myles Jack, LB, UCLA
A.J. Johnson, LB, Tennessee
Karl Joseph, S, West Virginia
Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA
Hau’oli Kikaha, DE, Washington
Ben Kline, LB, Penn State
Cameron Lynch, LB, Syracuse
Wayne Lyons, CB, Stanford
Jaylen Milles, CB, LSU
Jonathon Mincy, CB, Auburn
Ryan Mueller, DE, Kansas State
Cory Morrissey, DE, Iowa State
Hayes Pullard, LB, USC
Cedric Reed, DE, Texas
Jordan Richards, S, Stanford
Deterrian Shackleford, LB, Ole Miss
Danny Shelton, DT, Washington
Derron Smith, S, Fresno State
Jaylon Smith, LB, Notre Dame
Eric Striker, LB, Oklahoma
Jared Tevis, S, Arizona
Leonard Williams, DT, USC
Ramik Wilson, LB, Georgia

You may also like...